Magnetic Work Unit

Bloc magnétique breveté

Module for handling of magnetic beads combining simplicity and efficiency

This innovative module allows replacing the common gripping systems thanks to its patented technology APIM (Attraction Point by Induced Magnetization). Moreover it is provided with a retaining flange allowing using directly your microplates twisted by the heat of the thermal cycler and avoiding any move.

Operation and physical principle

The magnetic principle of the magnetic work unit is based on the induced magnetization.

The main goal is to focus the magnetic field generated by a permanent magnet to magnetize some low coercivity ferromagnetic pins. It induces some quick and stable changes from the “magnetized” state to the initial state (demagnetized). It allows the switching On and Off  of the magnetic attraction in wells in just a few seconds.

The alloy and the special design of the pins allow controlling the strength of the magnetic field along the vertical surface of each well. Then it is possible to create a magnetic beads pellet to a specific position in every well. This attraction point has been chosen to minimize the elution volume and optimize the washing by avoiding the interactions between the tip and the beads pellet.

Why the magnetic work unit can bring you more simplicity while improving your efficiency?

  1. Switch On and Off the attraction of the magnetic beads without moving the PCR microplate. The mistakes during the moves of the microplate are eliminated.

  2. More cost effective than the solution “passive plate with classic magnets + gripper”.

  3. Can maintain firmly the PCR microplate thanks to its retaining flange. This component allows flattening the microplate which can be twisted after getting out the thermal cycler. The pipetting is then facilitated by a better reproducibility of the position of the wells (impossible with a gripping system).

  4. Compliant with the most of the clean-up and isolation kits in the market.

  5. Compliant with the most of the PCR microplates (skirted, semi-skirted or no skirted).

  6. Module managed by a simple and powerful software which facilitate the programming for the end user. A simple On/Off command is sufficent to attract/free the beads.

  7. Allows a low elution volume and some optimized washing.

Bloc magnétique breveté

Bloc magnétique breveté

Module de manipulation de billes magnétiques combinant simplicité et efficacité

Il permet de remplacer les systèmes de préhension de type gripper grâce à sa technologie brevetée APIM (Attraction Point by Induced Magnetization). De plus il est équipé d’une bride de maintien qui permet d’utiliser vos plaques torsadées par la chaleur du thermocycleur et d’en éviter tout mouvement.

Fonctionnement et principe physique du bloc magnétique

Le principe de magnétisation du bloc magnétique est basé sur l’aimantation par influence.

Le but est d’utiliser le champ magnétique généré par un aimant permanent pour aimanter des pions ferromagnétiques à faible champ coercitif. Ceci induit donc des changements rapides et stables de l’état « magnétisé » à l’état initial (démagnétisé), permettant l’activation et la désactivation en seulement quelques secondes de l’attraction magnétique au sein des puits.

L’alliage et la forme spéciale des pions permettent de contrôler l’intensité du champ magnétique sur toute la surface de chaque puits et donc d’être en capacité de créer un agglomérat de billes à un endroit spécifique. Ce point d’attraction a été choisi afin de minimiser le volume d’élution au maximum et optimiser les lavages en évitant les interactions entre le cône et l’amas de billes.

En quoi le bloc magnétique peut vous apporter plus de simplicité tout en améliorant votre efficacité?

  1. Activation et désactivation de l’attraction des billes sans le besoin de déplacer la plaque de PCR. Les risques d’erreurs lors d’une manipulation de plaque sont donc écartés.

  2. Coût moindre que la solution « plaque passive à aimant permanent + manipulateur de plaque ».

  3. Possibilité de maintenir fermement la plaque de PCR grâce à une bride de maintien. Cet élément permet d’aplanir la plaque qui peut avoir subit des déformations après son passage dans un thermocycleur. Le pipetage est alors facilité par une meilleure reproductibilité du placement des puits (impossible avec un système à manipulation de plaques).

  4. Compatibilité avec la plupart des kits de purification ou d’extraction du marché.

  5. Compatibilité avec la majorité des plaques PCR, qu’elles soient jupées, semi-jupées ou non-jupées.

  6. Module géré par un logiciel simple et puissant qui facilite la programmation pour l’utilisateur. Une simple commande d‘activation/désactivation est nécessaire pour attirer/libérer les billes.

  7. Autorise un faible volume d’élution et des lavages optimaux.